Referees

VAR explained: Incorrect restarts

17 Sep 2020
Lucas Digne

Former referee Chris Foy discuses when VAR can get involved if a set-piece is awarded or taken incorrectly

Related Articles
VAR explained: Why Koch handball was awarded
What's new in 2020/21: Application of VAR
What's new in 2020/21: Handball Laws

The 2020/21 Premier League season has brought some new Laws, as well as clarifications as to how the Laws will be applied, and the opening weekend provided some early examples.

Former Premier League referee Chris Foy explains further the decisions made. 

VAR and incorrect restarts

Incident: Spurs v Everton: Dominic Calvert-Lewin's goal for Everton comes from a free-kick taken from the incorrect position, further forward from where the offence took place.

Foy's view: VAR cannot intervene on restarts, only on what happens after the restart. So the free-kick was taken from the incorrect place, but VAR protocol does not allow any intervention. This would also be true of a goal from a corner or throw-in awarded incorrectly to the attacking team. 

Also in this series

Part 1 Handball law
Part 2 Delaying the flag for offside
Part 3 Greater use of RRA
Part 4 Mistaken identity

Latest Videos

More Videos

Unfortunately, this video is no longer available. Please try another video.

22 Feb 2025

Arsenal 0-2 West Ham: What happened last season

Goals from Soucek and former Arsenal defender Mavropanos denied the Gunners top spot in December 2023

Your vote has successfully been registered and, if you have entered our prize draw, your entry has been processed.

You have already submitted an entry. Please check your email for further information.

Your vote has successfully been registered and, if you have entered our prize draw, your entry has been processed.

Create a Premier League account

Continue

You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your vote and enter our prize draw